Vulgaria – CUEAFS Critical Reflection

The ten-minute wait that I had to endure before I entered the ETG34 lecture room enabled my mind to think back to my first CUEAFS viewing of The Woodsman and The Rain. The dull, boring and slow outlook that I had on this particular film seemed to linger as I hesitantly entered this room for the second time. I took my seat and waited for what I thought would be another disappointing and pointless two hours of my life. To my surprise, I was proved wrong.

Starting with what seemed to be such a serious and professional warning at the beginning of the film, followed by a traditional ten-second countdown enabling audience members to leave, just made it more hilarious when it was disrupted by abrupt and blunt rudeness that was aimed towards the actual audience. This shocking phenomena followed by poetic credit music that was used to suggest the ongoing adult themes shown later in this movie was the first point where I realized that this film would appeal to me on a humorous level. Although this controversial technique may have been seen as daring and uncanny within the minds of the stereotypical Chinese audience, I feel that the Western world would embrace this form of comedy due to the fact that it appears to be ‘in-trend’ at the moment (what with films such as The Hangover Part One and Two).

The narrative of this film was easy to follow, even when it offered a variety of underlying character plots and stories. However, this film was very well made when it came to the Westernizing points that were narrative theories. The inclusion of flashbacks challenged Tzvetan Todorov’s theory of Equilibrium and the use of old film footage and experience as a motif not only anchored the characters role within the film, but also enabled the audience to understand the theme. These two technical aspects that were included throughout this film has automatically made it more appropriate for Western viewing as these are features in which this particular audience seeks and recognizes.

While I feel that there was no part of the film where the Western audience struggled to keep up, I do feel that the subtitles used within this film where, at points, hard to see or moved too quickly off of the screen. This is only a minor negative and should not in the slightest be used as an excuse not to see this incredibly professional film.

This trivial point barely took away from the whole viewing experience. Coming from a Western culture, I was still able to enjoy the excessive humour, with, on many occasions, catching myself laughing out loud, and I was able to appreciate how well this film had been made.

I was wrong to assume that all East Asian films would be like the disaster that was The Woodsman and The Rain. I have well and truly been proved wrong. To say that I am excited to see what else this culture has to offer in the film industry would be an understatement.

Twitter: Vulgaria – This film suits the current humorous trends of the Western world. It shocked me. I was proved wrong and I loved it. WATCH IT.

