Task 5 – Critical Reflections

For task 5, we were given what appears to be a simple brief, which requires us to write two different types of critical reflection. Although this brief was small, I still went through and highlighted the most important aspects. These can be found below:

“In 250-300 words, revisit your Easter holiday research homework and discuss if and how your understanding of light has changed during this module.”

“… 250-300 words, critically reflect on how your practice has developed during this module.”

“… Evidenced on your archived blog…”

After reading through this brief a couple of times, I then planned my two critical reflections before writing them up in full. These two reflections can be found below:

Easter Holiday Research – Critical Reflection:

During this critical reflection, I am going to analyze any concepts I have learnt during this module, which I can apply to the works visited in my Easter holiday research:

(https://hollyconstantinephotography.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/interesting-uses-of-light-in-photography/ ).

Looking back over the naturally lit photographs that I originally researched, I have found that I have learnt three main processes to improve the successfulness of a naturally lit image: pre-visualization, manipulation, and enhancement. Pre-visualization is a concept that photographers use in order to visualize and plan an image before they take the photo. It is a key concept in naturally lit photographs as the lighting around them is constantly changing and so it enables photographers to understand and wait for the best change in light. Manipulation and enhancement usually occur after the photographer has undergone pre-visualisation, and can include anything from the equipment used, the angle of the photograph and the editing used in post-production. Photographers are known to skillfully manipulate the natural lighting on set to create a more dynamic image or composition and are sometimes known to further enhance the lighting in post-production to cultivate a more successful image.

Photographers that use artificial lighting in a photograph also undergo the three processes explained above, but are more likely to take part in another procedure: experimentation. Using artificial light enables the photographers to easily manipulate the light to create the precise effect they are trying to achieve. With so many types of light being available across the world, photographers tend to experiment to create an original and unique image to differ themselves from the rest of the competitive industry. Photographers that use natural light also use the experimentation method, but it is simply easier for those that use artificial light.

Revisiting these 10 examples of interesting uses of light, after being taught the ins and outs of lighting in photography, has allowed me to further understand the four main concepts of light by applying them to work of professional photographers.

152MC Module – Critical Reflection:

During this critical reflection, I will be looking at my four previous tasks and highlighting how completing these have helped my practice to develop.

Creating the instruction manual shows my understanding of all of the technical skills I have learnt throughout this module. It has been created in order to highlight all the technical skills I have learnt as well as a being a future tool that I can continue to revisit when working with any form of lighting.

The task two brief to create four pinhole prints was mildly open for interpretation and so allowed me to think widely and creatively before narrowing down my final idea. This task was also the first task where I was introduced to the concept of “pre-visualization”. This process enabled me to visualize and plan an image before I took the photo, and therefore saved valuable time and resources.

Looking into representation through portraiture in task three was another broad brief where I was challenged to appropriately represent my subject through 5 different images. This is one of the hardest things a portrait photographer has to face and so it has enlightened my understanding of the professional process. It has also enabled me to build up my communication skills, which will be very useful for later work.

Task four was a set brief designed by Severn Trent Water for a competition. This brief allowed us to gain professional editorial skills whilst working with naturally lit, changing conditions and altering and developing our previously learnt pre-visualization skills.

In general, the skills that I have learnt through the numerous briefs within this module will be valuable to take forward in my future career as a photographer. The different lighting techniques can be applied to every type of photography, and the other skills that I have learnt can easily be applied to every aspect of my photography process including planning, research, shooting and analysis.

