#Picbod Week 3 Task – Nude and Naked

  • Building on the session workshops you should explore notions of Nude and Naked through your work. You should make at least one study of yourself and another of someone else. You will need to bring your experiences from task one and two to bear as you explore the dynamics of vulnerability vis a vis yourself, the subject and ultimately the viewer.
  • You should spend time observing the context for your subject. You should look for and work with the different types of light, tone and colour, both in terms of your location context and the effects they have on your subject and the subsequent photographic artefact.
  • Consider Paul Wright’s words on life drawing: “Look at the subject away from the camera – soak up your subject”, “look for the lines that denote weight and gesture”, “consider echoes of movement in a gesture – the image can be messy and doesn’t have to be ‘picture-perfect’”.
    • Think about your vulnerabilities
    • Taking a photograph of yourself and someone else
    • Think about whether you are concerned with anatomy, concerned with eroticism, the document, abstract, narrative?
    • Doesn’t have to be picture perfect
    • Make it a process – enhance your images

 

Before we were even given the task, and I think before I even started #picbod, I decided that I wanted to shoot some nudes using film. I am therefore going to be taking this week’s task using the Mamiya 7 camera, which uses 120mm film.  (I will also be using black and white film).

I have also made a conscious decision to photograph these two nude images in a place that neither of the subjects are used to. Due to the timing of this week’s task, my boyfriend and I are staying over in Milton Keynes at a hotel. I will therefore be shooting in different lighting, tone, and colour that I am used to and comfortable with shooting in.

I have also decided that I want to portray a sense of intimacy within my images (similar to the previous weeks task of “The Tribe”) in order to add a depth to my photographs. This will not only be shown through the nudity of the subjects, but also through the location of the images.

One last thing that will be shown through both of my different image types is that neither of the subjects will be looking at the camera. This will add a mysterious edge to the image whilst also making it more relatable for the viewer.

 

My Nude Image Idea:

For my personal nude self-portrait, I have decided that I want to photograph myself laying face down on the bed, showing the majority of my nude body.

For this image, I find that I am very much influenced by the work of Edward Weston and really want to try and achieve a nude that portrays my influence.  (Please see Edward Weston influences below)

Edward Weston Influences:

Edward Weston

Edward Weston 2

Edward Weston 3

Edward Weston 4

Edward Weston 5

Favourite Photos:

 Untitled

Untitled2

 

Untitled3

However, once arriving at the hotel, I soon noticed that the room we were staying in had a huge window with a relatively large window sill, so, out of curiosity, I decided that I wanted to experiment with photographing me sitting on this window sill. I actually found that these images were very successful and have included them below:

Untitled8

 

Untitled9

The Other Nude Image Idea:

For my second nude portrait, I wish to photograph my boyfriend, Oli, in the shower. I am planning on having him facing away from the camera so that only the back of his body is in the shot.

I also want the image to be taken from within the shower, rather than outside through a screen as I feel that this will give it a greater intimacy as it will focus solely on the body rather than having the screen as a division.

Favourite Photos:

Untitled4

 

Untitled5

 

Untitled6

 

Untitled7

Although it was discussed in the feedback session of my “Tribe” work that I preferred to focus on the form and body shapes using close-up images, I wish to experiment with taking these two planned images, as it was what I initially visualized.

However, I will experiment with closer images that focus on form and shapes if I am not happy with the responses to these planned photographs.

Photos:

Below you can find the image(s) that I will present as my final piece:

Untitled8

 

Untitled6

