Commenting on my Research Groups Blog

As I know that I need to comment on members of my Research Groups blog, I decided that I would use my blogroll in order to navigate to their pages. I then scrolled through their posts and selected a post that interested me and responded to them. Below you can see the name of the member, the URL to the post I commented on, what I wrote, and a screenshot as evidence:

Aaron Sehmar – http://aaronsehmarphotography.co.uk/wp/?p=1956

Hey Aaron,

I have to say, the title of this post really drew me in, and after reading through it, I have to say that I completely agree with you! The subject regarding the future of photography seriously interests me, so much so that I actually wrote an essay on it last semester! As I am sure you probably already know, if you want to read more on this subject and the debates surrounding the future of photography in a digital age, I would recommend reading Fred Ritchin’s “After Photography”. It’s a great read!

Holly

Aaron Sehmar Photography

Emma Shea – http://emmashea.co.uk/wp/?p=63

Hi Emma,

I was having a little nose at your blog and came across your gallery for your Work category. After looking through your GIF images, I have to say that I really love this idea! GIF images often represent that of a transition for me, but the fact that you have enhanced the colours and dramatic lighting of the GIF’s as you go through the collection represents, to me, the evolving and engulfing digital age. After all, aren’t we heading towards a “brighter future” in this digital age?

Great work!

Holly

Emma Shea Photography

 

Kat Korwaser Ullman – http://kkuphotography.co.uk/blog/?page_id=3681

Hey Kat,

I was interested to see how you responded to the creative tasks and came across your Work video.

I really like the concept behind your idea, but have a few suggestions/feedback. Now, there may be a reason as to why you have/haven’t done something like it, so please don’t panic over it! After all, it’s only some suggestions from one person!

I was wondering why there wasn’t any audio? I think that a recording of typing and clicking would work really well with it.

For the top half of the screen, I would maybe suggest trying to stretch it so that it fits the whole screen as this is slightly jarring from the bottom half.

For the bottom half, there is also something very jarring about it and I think that maybe flipping it to that it looks like the viewer’s perspective of the laptop could work.

Also, maybe having a bold line in between the two halves to enhance the difference between them as I think it is quite hard to distinguish where one starts and the other ends!

Apart from that, awesome work!

Holly

Kat Korwaser Ullman Photography

 

Lucy Bartlett – http://lucybartlettphotography.com/wp/?p=38

Hi Lucy,

I came across this blog post as I was in the seminar where you discussed the work of Arvida Bystrom. However, from this post, I just wanted to respond to your Rankin example.

As you have learnt from this module, it is so easy for amateurs to get a hold of resources that enables them to not only take professional looking images, but also to make their own website – almost everyone has their own website these days!

But more importantly, in regards to professionals using social media sites as promotional tools, do you think that these sites were originally the best way of promoting a business, or has this adapted over time, through the evolving of the digital media? Have professionals finally realized that bowing down to the demands of the digital natives and their technologies are the best way to meet their improved audiences needs?

Food for thought

Holly

Lucy Bartlett Photography

