201MC Action Plan – Before and After

BEFORE THE PLACEMENTS:

At the beginning of this Professional Placement module, I was unsure as to which future career path I wanted to take. That is why I decided to take the opportunity to experience 6 placements within a variety of different areas inside the photographic industry.

During this module, I therefore experienced 6 different placements including working with Fresh@CU, ePHOTOzine, Coventry City Handball Club, freelancing in Sydney, New Zealand and Hawaii, volunteering at Eastside Projects, and freelancing in Moscow.

In order to choose which placements I wanted to contribute to this Professional Placement module, I simply brain-stormed a number of different areas within the photographic industry that I thought I may be interested in and wanted to explore further. Depending on the placement, I then either applied for an appropriate position, got in contact with a company, or was approached by a company. (To see how I received the placements, in further detail, please visit the individual blog posts for each placement).

As well as wanting to achieve a greater understanding of my future career options, another aspect I wanted to aim for was to convert any previous weaknesses I had before the placement opportunities, and turn them into strengths, in order to enhance the variety of skills I possess.

To see the work behind each of these placements, please visit the appropriate blog posts that can be found on the main page of my blog.

 

AFTER THE PLACEMENTS:

As you may have seen through reading my individual blog posts, or watching my Assignment 2 video, the strategy that I created in order to try and achieve my personal aims of this module (to learn about different areas inside the photographic industry in order to achieve a greater understanding of the options that the industry had to offer and allow me to identify my future career path) were incredibly successful.

Each placement was a positive experience in one-way or another. Some placements challenged me more than others, but each opportunity benefited me either through skills that I acquired, weaknesses I converted, or general experiences and contacts that I gained.

As for my future career aim, due to the enjoyable and challenging placement and the successful publication of a number of articles, I am now seriously considering pursuing the path to becoming a photographic features writer.

