201MC Sydney, New Zealand, and Hawaii – Freelancing Opportunity

This blog post will be dedicated solely to all of the work that I do surrounding my freelancing opportunity to Sydney, New Zealand, and Hawaii on 13th December 2013 – 3rd January 2014. This will include my planning, research, photos, final product, and time sheet.

PLANNING:

What type of images do I plan on taking when visiting Australia, New Zealand, and Hawaii?

When I began to plan out what types of images I wanted to take on this freelance placement, I had a number of ideas including landscapes, portraits that showed a contrasted or similarity in culture, and images that were similar to that of a travel journal.

After much deliberation, I decided the idea that gave me a wider brief to work with was that of the travel journal.

Within this travel journal, I will be able to incorporate a number of different types of photographs, including both landscapes and portraits, allowing me to emphasize the travelling aspect within the portfolio. I will therefore be able to photograph aspects that appeal to me whilst also being able to experiment with different photographic techniques in order to achieve the best possible outcome. This travel journal will be similar to that of a portfolio in the sense that it will hopefully showcase a number of photographic techniques and types of photography that all show a consistent quality. Taking this into account, however, I also plan on making this travel journal appear more as a cohesive piece through the inclusion of similar aspects or themes within the photographs.

The theme that I wish to capture throughout my images is “Travelling”. By focusing on this theme, I will be able to hopefully create a narrative through my images, which brings me on to my next questions of “What do I plan on doing with my images upon my return?

What do I plan on doing with my images upon my return?

As my images will hopefully be able to show a travelling narrative, I have decided that I will want to present my images through the creation of an e-book. This e-book will not only represent the narrative, but also the typical format of a travel journal or book. The fact that it will be an e-book will also relate to the one piece of communication which I will be using to keep in contact with home: the internet.

To make this a more prominent aspect of my project, I have therefore decided that during my travels, I will update my professional photography Twitter account, on a daily basis, in order to reflect upon aspects of my journey. I then plan on using these tweets as a way of entitling the images used within the e-book, allowing the viewer to not only understand this aspect of communication, but to also highlight the fact that this is that of a personal project.

However, I have also thought about the fact that the possibility of being able to keep my Twitter account updated whilst abroad may be low. In this case, I will then conduct research, finding different peoples tweets about the specific area that I photographed and include them within my e-book instead. This will take away from it being a personal project, but will be able to enhance the fact that the theme of “Travel” can be undertaken by a majority of individuals worldwide.

 

What will I learn/experience when on this freelance placement?

As with many freelance placements, it is inevitable that I will not only learn something new, but that I will learn something about myself. On this placement, I think the main thing that I will learn is the genre of travel photography. This is not a type of photography that I have undergone before and so I will need to conduct some research in order to understand the kind of images that can be classified as travel photography.

I also feel that one of the other aspects I will learn about is that of different cultures. Arguably, I don’t think this will be as prominent in both Australia and New Zealand, but with the time of year that I am going, it will be interesting to learn about the different traditions towards a worldwide holiday that is Christmas.

Experimentation is also going to be a key point within this project and, although I may not use these experimental images within my final e-book, the experimenting will allow me to increase my photographic techniques and skills which I should later be able to transfer on to other projects.

With this particular project and brief that I have set myself, I will also be able to enhance my understanding of creating a narrative through the images that I take. This may not be learnt during the photographing process, but more so through the sequencing of my images within the e-book and the formatting of the e-book in general.

Finally, another factor that I will learn through this freelance placement is that, with the fact that I can photograph almost whatever I want (as long as it ties in with both the theme and narrative of the collection), I will be able to grasp a larger understanding of the areas of photography that interest me by looking for consistent subjects within the images that I take.

 

General Research suggested by Caroline Molloy:

  • Look at general travel photography

o   http://www.darioendara.com/portfolio/travel/

o   http://www.kenkaminesky.com

o   http://www.richardbernabe.com/gallery.htm

o   http://stuckincustoms.smugmug.com

  • Where would travel photographs be found?

o   Magazines – editorial

o   Newspapers

o   Catalogues/holiday brochures

o   Postcards

o   Personal portfolios

o   Social networks

o   Adverts

o   Leaflets

  • Look at both Timeout and Rough Guide in order to contrast how I am giving information via Twitter and how they give information

o   http://www.timeout.com

o   http://www.roughguides.com

 

Timeout and Rough Guide Twitter Account
Their articles are a lot more formal and well written My tweets will be a lot more informal
They are written for more mature readers, more likely aged from 21 onwards My tweets will be written for a range of viewers/followers so I will use language that will be easy to understand from many levels
They are also longer articles with a lot more information, rather than quick snippets of information Maximum 140 character per tweet – concise information, will have to seriously think what I want to include
Not all of the information is in one article or one place, you have to navigate around the website to find the appropriate information; it takes a lot of research All of the information will be found on my professional twitter account, in reverse chronological order and so easy to find
The information is visible to anyone that looks at the website Only visible to people that follow me or look for my tweets
The information within the articles are a lot more generalized; they state what is on but do not give personal responses I will be including my personal response to the areas I have travelled to as well as general visual information

 

RESEARCH:

As with all of my e-books/physical books I have created in the past, I started off with researching into different books in order to find inspiration and aspects that I can use as an influence within my own product. As I have undergone a lot of research in the past, I will use my previously acquired knowledge from this research as a starting point. However, as seen in my previous “Site-Specific” post (https://hollyconstantinephotography.wordpress.com/2013/11/20/site-specific-brief-personal-practice/), one book that is incredibly relatable to this project is “Travel Photography from Beyond LA” by Pat Blake. The previous research that I conducted surrounding this e-book can be found below:

Travel Photography Beyond LA

http://www.magcloud.com/browse/issue/460088
Context – (according to Pat Blake) “This collection of images are from short trips mostly around southern California – outside of Los Angeles county – and Central California”
Front Cover:

  • Black and white photograph taking up most of the page – white border surrounding it
  • Title and date found in the top left corner of the photograph in negative space
  • Sliding page transitions

First page:

o   Left page

  • Blank white page

o   Right page

  • Title
  • Date
  • Name of photographer
  • Photographers website
  • Small context
  • All found one under the other, small text (approximately size 12), found at the top-centre of the page
  • Straight on to photographs

Photographs:

o   ALWAYS the same layout

o   Left page

  • Title of photograph in the bottom right corner

o   Right page

  • Photograph always same position
  • Centre of the page
  • White border
  • Varies in size – similar size but some images are square/cropped

Last page:

o   Same layout to first page

o   Left page

  • Blank white page

o   Right page

  • Title
  • Date
  • Name of photographer
  • Photographers website
  • Small “About me” section
  • All found one under the other, small text (approximately size 12), found at the top-centre of the page

Back cover:

o   First photograph shown within the book takes up the whole of the back cover (no border)

o   Same information that has been placed on the first and last pages can be found in bottom right corner (negative space)

  • Title
  • Date
  • Name of photographer
  • Photographers website

WHAT I LIKED:

  • Cropped photo used on front page – viewer knows straight away that it is a typical photo book
  • Simplistic front pages – suggests that the book is going to be an easy read
  • No large essay or foreword at beginning – I feel that these can occasionally take away from the images themselves, leaves nothing for the viewers imagination
  • The pattern and symmetrical feel of the book – rhythm shown throughout the book through the formatting of the images
  • Simplicity (photo and little title) – gave viewer detail of the subject but allowed imagination to take hold, giving each viewer an individual experience
  • The page transitions used on the MagCloud website – simple, no page turning effects so it doesn’t look like it is trying to be a stereotypical book, it is proud to be seen as an e-book
  • The “About Me” section – gave the viewer background information about the individual, including what area’s of photography they are interested in

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE:

  • No gutter line – cannot tell where the left and right pages separate
  • Minimal text – although I do not like long forewords or essays within a photo book, I felt like the context given at the beginning of the book was very brief and descriptive; this could possibly be elaborated further
  • The fact that there was no copyright or professional looking, “must-have” elements

WHAT WILL I WANT TO INCLUDE IN MY OWN PHOTO BOOK/E-BOOK?

  • Cropped photograph that takes up whole of the front cover – viewer knows straight away that it is a typical photo book
  • Simplistic text/font – seen throughout photo book
  • Simplistic front pages – suggests that the book is going to be an easy read
  • Inclusion of copyright and other professional elements to be seen on the first pages – also suggests that this book is professionally made
  • Little context to be given at the beginning of the book, but not a lot
  • Narrative – show a narrative surrounding the theme of “travelling” which will in turn enhance the flow and rhythm of the book
  • Simplicity (photo and little body of text) – images may be entitled by tweets that I wrote whilst in that area, or the images may be grouped into a section entitled by one tweet in order to show that they are from the same place, enhancing the travelling aspect of the book
  • Photo and context given on back page – gives the viewer a taster of what is inside the book whilst also giving context from another persons perspective
  • An “About Me” section – given towards the end of the book; reflect the position of the small foreword – adds to symmetrical feel and flow of the book

RISK ASSESSMENT FORM:

Sydney, New Zealand, and Hawaii Risk Assessment

PARENTAL CONSENT FORM:

Holly Constantine Photography Parental Consent Form

 

PHOTOS:

After completing my research, the next step was to then choose which photographs I wanted to include within my e-book and editing them to a professional standard. Whilst going through my images, I obviously chose the most high quality photos whilst also bearing in mind the narrative and theme of the book (“travelling”) and looking for any similar compositional techniques in order to enhance the cohesiveness of the collection.

During the editing process, I also decided that I was going to include both black and white and colour images. This would increase the differences between the photos whilst also adding professionalism to the travel journal and implementing a portfolio feel to the book.

Contact Sheet

 

LAYOUT AND SEQUENCING:

As I was experimenting with the layout of my e-book through the creation of a physical prototype (even though the final product will be an online version), the original plan that I had in mind adapted to some extent. The main aspect that changed the most was that of the inclusion of the tweets. An elaborated description of how they changed can be seen below:

  • Original idea – the original idea regarding the tweets was to name individual photographs by a tweet that I created either about the subject itself or in the place where the photo was created
  • New idea – however, as I was experimenting with sequencing and comparing the tweets to the images, I soon found that one tweet could be used for a number of photographs and thought that I would experiment with creating a collection of photographs that fit under one umbrella tweet
  • Final idea – as I was trialing the new idea, I soon found that some of the images that I had chosen for my e-book didn’t actually fit with any of the tweets that I wrote which brought me onto my final idea:

o   At the beginning of each of the sections of the book (Sydney, New Zealand, and Hawaii) I would create a double-page spread that was a visual representation of a scrapbook of tweets

o   This scrapbook style would enhance the travel journal feature of the e-book whilst also making it feel more personal and therefore enhancing the books provenance

o   This scrapbook idea will also allow the viewer to make their own connections between the tweets and the photographs, heightening the viewers experience

o   There will therefore also be no large title stating where the images are taken, but the tweets will offer slightly obvious clues allowing the viewer to understand the location

LAYOUT:

Scan 1

Scan 16

SEQUENCING:

Sydney:

New Zealand:

Hawaii:

PHOTOS – SIZING

During the layout and sequencing stage, I also decided that each of my images were going to be the same size and would be placed in similar positions on the page depending on whether it is of a portrait or landscape orientation (excluding my single panorama image). This is so that the flow of the book is consistent, representing the journey, whilst also taking time not to highlight some places as being more important than others. However, some images will be viewed singularly on a double-page spread and others will be seen in a pair (one to each page); this will slightly enhance the importance of the singular images but not the place within the image, and will mainly be used to create small breaks in the narrative, representing the small breaks in travelling that took place during the trip. The pairings and general sequencing have also been planned so that the subjects within the photographs compliment each other.

 

E-BOOK:

        Freelance Travel Photography 2013/14  

         By Holly Constantine

         130 pages, published 4/16/2014

       Freelance Travel Photography 2013/14 was created as a part of my second year university module “Professional Experience”. For this project I traveled to Sydney, New Zealand, and Hawaii in order to experience freelance photography.This photo-book includes a series of travel photographs that I took during this opportunity, along with a number of tweets that I uploaded to my official photography Twitter account whilst on my travels.…

After the completion of my e-book, the next step that I decided to take was to explain why I chose some of the main aspects within the book. Following this, I then thought that the best thing to do would be to quickly reflect on my publication and pinpoint any features that I would change in the future. Both of these can be found below:

WHY I CHOSE CERTAIN ASPECTS:

E-book:

  • As previously stated, I decided to present my images in an e-book in order to enhance the narrative shown throughout my image collection whilst also reflecting the standard format of a travel journal or book
  • The fact that I decided that the publication will be an e-book (online version) relates back to the one piece of communication that I used to keep in contact with people back home: the internet
  • I also chose a square sizing for my e-book as I felt that it would work well with the personal aspect of the project as it is not following the stereotypical convention, as well as the layout working well with the contents of the book: it is aesthetically pleasing

Tweets – inclusion and layout:

  • Looking back at my planning, I decided to include tweets within my photo book in order to highlight the importance of the internet communication whilst also allowing the viewer to see that the project is relatively personal
  • As you can see above, however, the idea behind the layout of the tweets changed dramatically
  • The scrapbook double-page spread of tweets enhanced the travelling aspect of the book by giving context to the images whilst also allowing the viewer to make their own connections between the two aspects, increasing the viewers experience
  • I also decided that on these double-page spreads, I would pair together some of the tweets as, due to the 140 character limit, I had to expand a point over 2 separate tweets
  • The zig-zag layout that the tweets can be seen in also give a slightly less formal atmosphere to the book, enhancing it’s personal scrapbook aspect whilst also representing the zig-zag roads that I travelled down along the journey

Photos – sizing and sequencing

  • The photos that I included within the photo book are all of a high quality and represent the theme of travel in one way or another
  • The sizing of the images, as stated before, are the same in order to not add importance to one image over the other
  • Each photograph are also placed in the same position on the page depending on whether it is of a portrait or landscape orientation (excluding my single panorama image) so that this aspect of the images creates a nice flow to the book
  • However, as you can see from the e-book, the sequencing of the images is jumbled in the sense that there is no synchronization or reflection the page side or double-page spreads
  • This was so that the viewer didn’t get used to a consistent rhythm and it allows the book to be unpredictable in order to represent the journey that I travelled
  • Even though this is the case, a string narrative can still be seen throughout this book with the sequencing of each of the aspects creating and telling it’s own story

Font:

  • As for the font, I decided to use a simple black and white colour scheme throughout my book and chose the font that Twitter uses in order to create a more cohesive piece and to enhance the importance of the inclusion of the tweets

No titles (photographs):

  • As you have probably already noticed, each of my photographs don’t have their own title
  • This is not only because the plan with the tweets didn’t go accordingly, but also because I wanted to give the viewer a sense of the unknown in what they are looking at, much like the feeling I anticipated when taking the photographs
  • Its also allows the viewer to make their own connection between the tweets and the photographs which means that different viewers perceptions will vary on the location of the image

Other aspects:

  • All the other aspects found within my book have either been chosen due to it’s aesthetic appeal or simply because they follow the conventions of some of the books that I have researched in the past, increasing my books professionalism

 

WHAT I WOULD CHANGE:

As with all projects, there are some things that I would change if I were to re-visit this personal assignment. These have been listed below with a brief description:

  • Tweets – I would make my tweets more relevant to the images themselves whilst also increasing their formality and making them more reflective rather than descriptive; I would also improve the way in which the tweets are displayed by creating a more aesthetically pleasing board of tweets
  • Photos – although I am incredibly happy with the photos that I included within my e-book, I feel that if I were to re-do this project that I would want to try and create more portraits in order to enhance this particular photographic skill whilst also being able to add another type of photograph to the book in order to increase the professionalism of the portfolio
  • E-book – there is not much that I would change when it comes to the layout of my e-book apart from maybe increasing the size of each of the images; also, one minor factor, is on the page that includes my panorama, the black line that separates the pages can be seen as a distraction from the image as it almost appears to cut straight through the middle

 

TIME SHEET:

FRIDAY 13TH DECEMBER 2013 – FRIDAY 3RD JANUARY 2014 – Holiday!

  • 9am-5pm – 176 hours (22 days)

TUESDAY 8TH APRIL 2014 – Editing

  • 11am-1:30pm, 3:30-5pm – 4 hours

THURSDAY 10TH APRIL 2014 – Editing

  • 11am-1pm, 2-4pm – 4 hours

SATURDAY 12TH APRIL 2014  – Research, written work and sequencing/layout

  • 10:30am-1:30pm, 2-4pm – 5 hours

SUNDAY 13TH APRIL 2014 – E-book

  • 10:30am-1pm, 3:30-5:30pm – 4.5 hours

MONDAY 14TH APRIL 2014 – E-book

  • 11:30am-1pm, 2:30-3:30pm, 4-5pm – 3.5 hours

TUESDAY 15TH APRIL 2014 – E-book

  • 11am-1:30pm, 3-5pm, 6-6:30pm – 5 hours

WEDNESDAY 6TH APRIL 2014 – E-book, written work

  • 10:30am-12:30pm, 1:30-4pm – 4.5 hours

 

Total time = 176 (22 days) + 30.5 (5.08 days) = 206.5 hours (34.4 hours)

 

DEMANDS OF THE WORKING ENVIRONMENT:

Looking back over my learning objects, I found that I needed to reflect on the working environment, any demands that it placed on me and whether I met those demands.

For this freelance placement to Sydney, New Zealand, and Hawaii, I found that it was one of the most demanding placements when it came to the working environment. This is not only because I experienced jet-lag whilst on my travels, but I was obviously creating work in an unknown location which meant that I had to adapt to a number of external factors (including weather conditions), as well as carrying all of my equipment round due to not knowing what I would find to photograph. However, I did find that this really helped me to increase my opportunistic photography skills and allowed me to create a genuine travel response to different places from around the world.

SKILLS GAINED/ENHANCED:

For this opportunity to count towards the module, I had to create my own photographic brief, whilst researching and planning what type of images were successful in freelancing, and what I wanted to do with my images upon my return.

As a result of this placement, I was able to capture aesthetically pleasing travel photographs through the broadening of both my photographic and editing techniques, which I later included in a successful e-book depicting a travel theme through it’s narrative nature. This travel journal representation also included the use of social media “Tweets” in order to highlight a second narrative surrounding communication through the Internet, and allowed me to experience the importance of sequencing different aspects within a publication.

Throughout this opportunity, I have been able to enhance my creative work through increasing my photographic skills and through the understanding of the process behind freelancing. This also included working and adapting to unknown locations which in turn enhanced my opportunistic photography skills. My strengths were challenged and increased and some of my weakness converted to strengths (such as, getting stressed easily, and being impatient).

A list of mainly transferable (and some specialist) skills that I feel I gained or enhanced during this placement can be found below:

  • Communication skills
  • Organization skills
  • Research skills
  • Creative skills (specialist skill)
  • Motivated
  • Time management
  • Problem solver
  • Computer, camera and technology (editing) skills (specialist skill)
  • Initiative
  • Flexibility
  • Hard-worker
  • Friendly
  • Perfectionist

 

ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY:

Whilst taking part in the freelancing opportunity in New Zealand, I also received work through the contacts that I established whilst I was out there. The Benzie Free Range Eggs company required me to photograph marketing and promotional images in order to enhance their visual professionalism through their company website. The photographs that I took for the company can be found below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

