351MC #Phonar – Session Two Reflection

In our second #Phonar session, we started the day by discussing main topics of the previous week, before individually listening to a talk by Fred Ritchin about different theories found in his book “After Photography”. The main themes that interested me from this session were the ideas surrounding single-point and multiple perspectives, and photography within the digital age. We talked about how our single-point-perspective has disappeared, which allows us to be able to read the large numbers of photographs that are being supplied by amateurs, and how we should be able to look at multiple perspectives to make a meta-story. Keeping this in mind, whilst listening to Fred Ritchin’s talk, I picked up on a couple of quotes about photography in the digital age that interested me:

  • “It’s a different way of expressing oneself, it’s a different way of reaching audiences, and it’s a different way of describing the world.”
  • “If this is a revolution in media, we need to think in revolutionary ways.”

 

I found that these themes were very interesting and that they actually anchored some of my personal ideas from the week before. Looking specifically at the ideas surrounding different perspectives relates back to the increasing competition of amateur photographers and reminds me of the new ‘species’ of photographers that Fred Ritchin talks about in “After Photography” (which I read as a part of my second year research). These photographers were called “Metaphotographers” and they’re those who sift through the available media in order to find the more important pieces of (visual) information and data. This then got me thinking about photographers that use found images as a part of their project and has sparked an interest that I plan on exploring within my own future projects.

Moving on to photography in the digital age, looking back at the quotes I pulled from the talk with Fred Ritchin, I believe that we, as photographers, are incredibly lucky to be going through this second paradigm shift and feel that we should use it to its full potential by taking time to experiment with the connection of photography with different (digital) mediums. That is why, for future projects, I am considering broadening my portfolio by creating more experimental outputs through the use of digital technologies (for example, adding audio).

