352MC Professional Photographic Practice – Project Development (Using a “Middle-of-the-Road” Technique to Document the Pathways)

As suggested in the previous blog post (“352MC Second Trip to the Lake District (Saturday 31st January – Sunday 1st February 2015)”), whilst away on this weekend trip to the Lakes, I soon found that I was thinking about the current title from my Symposium paper: “A Pathway to the Past”. This then lead to me to think about a development within my project where, instead of photographing the picturesque landscape, I could actually do what David Moore suggested in the group tutorial on the 21st January 2015 (please see the blog post entitled “352MC Professional Photographic Practice – Lecture 3 (Practitioner Talk and a Group Tutorial with David Moore, and a Self-Learning Workshop)”) and photograph the pathways within the Lake District that I travelled down with my Grandpa. As suggested in this group tutorial, this would actually enhance the reconnection aspect of my project as I am physically experiencing the pathways Grandpa and I explored together, retracing our steps.

But with this being said, why do I only visualize a “middle-of-the-road” compositional technique rather than other documentations of the path? As briefly suggested in the previous blog post, I have always been very interested in “middle-of-the-road” photography as I love the sense of symmetry and perspective it creates, whilst also symbolizing a route to the beyond (please see some personal examples of my use of the “middle-of-the-road compositional technique, below). For its specific use within my FMP, I therefore feel that the directionality that these images create could be used to represent the fact that these particular pathways have triggered a psychological pathway to the recollection of memories (that I have of Grandpa), which I recall in these particular landscape locations.

As also previously mentioned, now that I have come up with this new development within my project, I now plan on taking the time to speak to lecturer Caroline Molloy to see what she thinks about this specific idea.

