352MC Professional Photographic Practice – Lecture 10 (One-to-One Tutorials with Anthony Luvera and Caroline Molloy)

On Wednesday 15th April 2015, it was the first day after Easter that was dedicated to the 352MC Professional photographic Practice or Final Major Project (FMP) module. Throughout this day, both Anthony Luvera and Caroline Molloy held one-to-one tutorials with each of the students in order to find out our development and progression for our FMP over the Easter break. The notes that I received within these two one-to-one sessions can be found below (please note, any descriptions or responses I provided can also be seen below in italics):

 

One-to-One Tutorial with Anthony Luvera:

In the tutorial that I had with Anthony Luvera, I hadn’t had any recent photographic works to show him as my films needed to be developed. However, after discussing with him the stage that I was at (including finishing my research, completing my final trip up to the Lake District the previous weekend, and about to continue with the experimental aspects of my project – including text) he then provided me with further research and advice into the continuing development of my FMP. These can be found below in a note form:

Further Research:

  • Look into the work of Daniel Campbell Blight (as he tends to write fictional pieces in association with photography) – especially in a recent exhibition called “A Conversation at the Edge of an Object” which is being held in Somerset House for Photo London
    • Within this exhibition, you should also look into the presentation methods employed by the photographers/artists that are contributing – these include Sidsel Christensen, Philipp Dorl, Dominic Hawgood, Eugenia Ivanissevich, Mandukhai Kaylin, Agata Madejska, Joanna Piotrowska, Thomas Popé and Tereza Zelenkova
    • For this piece of research, you therefore need to look into the accompanying text written by Daniel Campbell Blight, as well as the presentation methods of the contributors (but only those that you feel are relevant to your FMP)
  • You should also look into the work of Kate McMillan – as she tends to incorporate an installation quality (with natural, found materials) alongside her photographs
  • In relation to your idea of incorporating images, text, and objects, you should also research into the work of:
    • Darren Harvey Regan
    • Joseph Kosuth

 

Advice regarding Presentation Methods:

  • You need to investigate into a lot of different things when considering your presentation choice, including paper type, size, and whether it is pinned or framed
  • You should do some tests involving the work prints, the objects and the text
  • For the formative feedback session, you should come in with work prints and contact sheets

 

One-to-One Tutorial with Caroline Molloy:

In the tutorial that I had with Caroline Molloy, obviously similar to the one-to-one that I had with Anthony, I hadn’t had any recent photographic works to show her as my films needed to be developed. However, after discussing with her the stage that I was at (including finishing my research, completing my final trip up to the Lake District the previous weekend, and about to continue with the experimental aspects of my project – including text) I simply suggested that I knew what I needed to do and that I just needed to crack on a do it.

Although she agreed with me and thought that I was in a good place at the moment, I then suggested that, before the Formative Feedback Session the following week, I wanted to sit down with her in order to go through my final developed images (or those that I have) so that I seemed slightly more prepared for the feedback session.

This was therefore the main discussion that we had regarding my FMP and, as suggested above, she thought that I was in a good place and simply needed to crack on with the work.

