352MC Professional Photographic Practice – Lecture 11 (Second Formative Feedback Review and Output Considerations Discussion)

On Wednesday 22nd April 2015, I attended a second Formative Feedback Review session dedicated to the 352MC Final Major Project Module. Similar to the previous Review session, we displayed our work from the FMP so far (including yet another revised proposal that we wrote for this particular session) and, once we had set up our displays in an appropriate manner, we then spent an hour individually looking at our peers work and providing them with written feedback. Once this session was completed, we then returned to the second part of the day that involved us presenting our work to the group before receiving verbal feedback.

After receiving the feedback for my FMP, I then decided to speak to my course peers, Rachael Bint and Bryony Johnson, in order to gain further opinions on the output considerations that I put across within my presentation.

Below you will be able to find information relating to the second Formative Feedback Review session (including a photo of all of the information that I provided during the second Formative Feedback Review, a copy of the written feedback I received, a video of the audio recording from the extended feedback session, brief accompanying notes, and the key points that I need to take away from today’s session), followed by the notes that I took on the discussion that I had with both Rachael and Bryony regarding my output considerations (including the form that I filled out that visually described these particular exhibition ideas):

 

SECOND FORMATIVE FEEDBACK REVIEW:

My project information included my newly revised proposal (which discussed the process and development of my project so far), contact sheets of my experimentations (including the use of Polaroid’s to document the methodology, “Recreating my Grandpa’s Photos” experiments, and more “Creative” Photographic Techniques), as well as the Mamiya 7 contact sheets from the first four trips up to the Lake District and a to-do list of things that I still need to complete for the project.

My project information included my newly revised proposal (which discussed the process and development of my project so far), an example of one of the images I am contemplating for use within my exhibition piece, contact sheets of my experimentations (including the use of Polaroid’s to document the methodology, “Recreating my Grandpa’s Photos” experiments, and more “Creative” Photographic Techniques), the audio of the interview I held with my Dad, as well as the Mamiya 7 contact sheets from the first four trips up to the Lake District and a to-do list of things that I still need to complete for the project.

 

Peer Review (Written Feedback):

Feedback Sheet

 

Individual Presentation and Extended Verbal Feedback:

Second Formative Feedback Review – Feedback on my Final Major Project from Holly Constantine on Vimeo.

(Please note, all of the text provided in a regular format (unless otherwise stated) is feedback I gained from Anthony Luvera, and the text that has been displayed in italics represents my answer to a question/suggestion).

 

  • Aaron Sehmar – I love that idea regarding the second output consideration (the pathway to the photo and the text on the floor, etc.) but do you not worry about maybe having so much on the floor that it’s going to distract away from your image?
    • Not if I print it big enough!
    • Just because it’s bigger doesn’t mean that it’s better – so think about how busy the environment around your work is going to be, because it could potentially distract from what you want the viewer to feel
  • I think there’s some very interesting points that you raised Aaron, because it is very difficult to use materials and photographs together – it’s really challenging
    • I think at this point we would need to see prototypes – it’s something that you would almost develop as you developed the photographs
    • You need to undergo the process of drafting, testing, and drafting
  • Caroline Molloy – I think it’s difficult for us to comment on something that we haven’t seen
    • Anthony and I have both used text in the past, and I would like to reiterate what these guys have said and that’s: “you don’t know if you’ve tried it”
    • Do some tests
  • Have you photographed the objects?
    • Not yet, because the studio has been fully booked up, but I’ve organized to do them next Tuesday morning
  • Caroline Molloy – Holly, what do you want from us?
    • I don’t really know, I mean I know what I’ve got to do, I just need to get on and do it
    • But I just wanted your opinions on the project and the output considerations that I’ve just put across
    • It’s difficult to comment hypothetically so you’ll need to book some tutorials
    • Things will always look different to what you think
  • Do you think you’re being too literal in the “pathway” output idea?

 

Key Points to Take Away from Today:

  • I need to experiment and test all of the output ideas that I have considered throughout my projects development in order to distinguish which one is more successful

 


 

OUTPUT CONSIDERATIONS DISCUSSION WITH RACHAEL BINT AND BRYONY JOHNSON:

IMG_2105

(Please excuse the poor quality of the image, I was unable to scan the sheet as it needed to be handed in during the session, and so I had to take the photo on my phone).

 

  • I really like the idea of creating a pathway installation out of the collected materials and the text on the floor, but you need to be carefull that it doesn’t overshadow the image and concept behind the project
    • You also run the risk of people accidentally destroying the pathway that you have created because they may be too busy looking at the images on the wall
    • You’d need to have a corner or something so that it’s out of the way
    • I would at least need to have something to pin them down or keep them in place
  • Have you thought about framing them?
    • Yeah, that was my original idea which was to include them in a triptych with the photo and the accompanying text
    • I like that, I think I prefer that
    • I think framing them, and actually being able to see them exhibited like this is going to be different from seeing them on the floor – I feel like they might just be ignored on the floor
    • I think framing the materials would look really good
    • You’ll need a box frame – yeah, well that’s what I’ve put because obviously I’ll need quite a deep frame, without any glass, to hold the materials, and then I’ll obviously want to continue with the use of this type of frame for my other two aspects (the photo and the text)
    • I think that will look really really good
  • I like the idea of the more “out there” installation, but I would do this if the exhibition was dedicated solely to your work, rather than a collaborative degree show
    • But because you’re only going to have a small area, then I think it will be more affective for you to do the three frames
