352MC Professional Photographic Practice – Final Exhibition Piece Selection

As you may have seen within the “352MC Professional Photographic Practice – Choosing and Editing the Final Photographs” blog post, after I had narrowed down my selection of images to the final five, I suggested that the one of the next stages of my projects development was to look through the final photographs and choose the singular image that I will want to represent my collection within the Degree Show Exhibition. However, before choosing the single image that I thought would best represent my work, I decided to pinpoint my final presentation idea, and create mock-ups of these displays (found below), in order to choose the best installation piece (rather than just the photo).

When looking through these five Photoshop mock-ups, I then decided to take into account the successfulness of each of the aspects included within the triptych (the object, photo, and text), before looking at the overall affect of the piece. This allowed me to select an installation that highlighted the professional and aesthetic quality of the collection, whilst also successfully encompassing the concept and narrative behind the whole of my project.

 

“Buttermere” Installation:

Buttermere

 

As you can see from the photograph included above, after looking through each of the installation mock-ups, I decided to choose the “Buttermere” triptych as my final exhibition piece due to a number of different reasons.

Looking at the individual aspects included within the triptychs (the object, photo and text), I personally thought that the chosen object included within this triptych was one of the more interesting out of all of the installations due to its form and shape (which is imperative within my collections because, as suggested within the blog post “352MC Professional Photographic Practice – Presentation Options Research”, I want the included object to act as the interesting aspect that draws in the viewers attention and engagement). Also, (as suggested within the blog post “352MC Professional Photographic Practice – Presentation Options Research”), this particular object greatly represents the location captured within the image (thus increasing the relationship between the photo and the object); this is not only achieved through it’s shape and form symbolizing some of the shapes within the landscape photo, but also through the fact that it provides a textual reference to the landscape through the source of the object being documented within the image (the trees), which in turn enhances the collections immersive nature.

Moving on to the photograph included within the “Buttermere” triptych, when thinking about which installation to choose for my final piece I decided to take into account peoples opinions whilst also analyzing which image I felt encapsulated the concept of the project. When asking a number of my course peers as well as individuals that would be attending the exhibition (who aren’t in the photographic industry) which photograph they preferred out of my final five selection (included above), a large majority of them “voted” for the “Buttermere” image due to it’s aesthetics. Taking this into account, I then chose to deliberate which image I thought represented the concept of my project, and soon decided that the “Buttermere” photo was the most successful with regards to this aspect. This is because it holds a visual conceptuality that can be used by the viewer to gain a greater understanding regarding the concept of the project. For example, as suggested in the “352MC Professional Photographic Practice – Choosing and Editing the Final Photographs” blog post, the softness of the lighting and colour within this particular image could be used to represent a purified love (enhancing the sentimental and personal value of the project), whilst the hazy condition (and the pathway leading towards it) could be used to symbolize my personal, fading memories, as well as making reference to the psychological pathway my mind underwent throughout the recollection process.

In relation to the text included within this specific triptych, I personally feel that it was one of the most successful pieces that I wrote for this collection. This is because it contains a more solid narrative and content through the fact that it is based on one of my more prominent memories that I focused on throughout the project. I also feel that this piece of text successfully provides the viewer with information in order to enhance their contextualized understanding regarding both the piece and the project. This is achieved by the descriptive nature of the language providing a relationship between the text and the image (through discussing aspects within the photo), as well as successfully referencing both the projects methodology and the concept through the carefully considered narrative included.

When looking at this chosen installation as an overall piece, I therefore feel that each of the individual aspects included within the triptych can be used as a tool for contextualization for the other accompanying pieces. I also think that this particular triptych, along with the contextualized understanding that can be gained by the viewer, has created both an engaging an immersive piece that increases the audience’s interest and accessibility. I therefore feel that this particular exhibition piece was the most successful out of the five and, as suggested above, think that both it’s singular aspects and collective presence highlighted the professional and aesthetic quality of the collection, whilst also successfully encompassing the concept and narrative behind the whole of my project.

